Pathfinding

Today, in the Clarion++ framework, I squared away a lot of small things, but one big one was A* pathfinding, a huge component of Clarion’s A.I. and worldgen.

I was up all night debugging my implementation and it’s finally ready for use elsewhere in the game.

Anyway, this is the last of the “really hard things I was afraid of having to do myself because I’m programming this in C++”. From now on, components should fall into place much faster.

This shot was running in-engine. It lets you create blocks and move the yellow square to wherever you click, tracing its path along the way. The path pictured here resolved instantly. Is it my algorithm, or is C++ just that fast?

 

Posted on 03/06/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

